Untitled Document

Winners Announced for the Secretary of State’s 2009 Florida Main Street Awards

seal of florida

Florida Department of State
Kurt S. Browning
Secretary of State

For Immediate Release
September 22, 2009

Joan Jefferson

Winners Announced for the Secretary of State’s 2009 Florida Main Street Awards

Secretary of State Kurt S. Browning has announced the recipients of the Secretary of State’s 2009 Florida Main Street Awards. “I am proud to recognize the activities and accomplishments of this year’s honorees,” said Secretary Browning. “Their sincere commitment to preservation and contributions to their local programs have been critical to the successful revitalization of traditional commercial districts across the state.”

The Secretary’s awards are based on the recommendations of the Ad Hoc Florida Main Street Awards Committee, which convened in June to consider the applications received for 2009. The Committee included Joan Jefferson, Florida Main Street Program coordinator; Phillip Wisley, Florida Main Street Program architect; and three local Main Street program managers: Wayne Carter, Eustis Main Street; Robin Husbands-Cauchi, Old Palm Harbor Main Street; and Sandi Moore, Leesburg Downtown Partnership.

The awards acknowledge local Main Street program accomplishments that advance the preservation and revitalization goals of the Florida Main Street Program. Florida Main Street is a technical assistance program of the Bureau of Historic Preservation, Division of Historical Resources, Florida Department of State. The Bureau conducts statewide programs aimed at identifying, evaluating, and preserving Florida's historic resources. Main Street, with its emphasis on preservation, is an effective strategy for achieving these goals in Florida's historic retail districts. Since 1985, the Bureau has offered manager training, consultant team visits, design and other technical assistance, as well as the benefit of experience gained by other Florida Main Street programs.

Twenty-seven honor or merit awards were presented for exceptional accomplishments within Florida Main Street communities.

This year’s award recipients are:

Outstanding Local Florida Main Street Supporter: Honor Award—Gary L. Jones (Grand Central District, St. Petersburg); Merit Awards—C.D. Lewis Jr., P.A., Attorney at Law (St. Cloud Main Street); Rocky Voglio (Newberry Main Street); and City of Wauchula (Main Street Wauchula)

Outstanding Florida Main Street Fundraising or Membership Development Effort: Merit Award—Membership Drive (Venice Main Street)

Outstanding Private-Public Partnership: Honor Award—Osceola County Commissioner Ken Shipley (St. Cloud/Osceola County)

Outstanding Supporter of the Statewide Florida Main Street Program: Honor Award—Doris Tillman (Main Street Fort Pierce)

Outstanding Florida Main Street Rehabilitation Project: Honor Award—Maxwell & Maxwell, P.A. (Okeechobee) Merit Awards—Robert Beauchamp, Chime & Time Clock Repair (St. Cloud); and Cassandra Sharp and Denise War, Old Post Office (Milton)

Outstanding Florida Main Street Public Improvement: Honor Award—City of Wauchula and Kimley-Horn & Associates, City Streetscape; Merit Awards—Melbourne Main Street Design Committee, AIA Space Coast Chapter, and City of Melbourne, Gateway Entrance Feature Project; Okeechobee Main Street, Butterfly Garden – Park 6; and New Port Richey, Railroad Square

Outstanding New Construction Project: Honor Award—Charlotte County and City of Punta Gorda, Charlotte Harbor Event and Conference Center (Punta Gorda)

Outstanding Florida Main Street Sign/Display Project: Merit Award—Dian Schexnayder, Shabby Schex, Window Display (Milton)

Outstanding Florida Main Street Special Event: Honor Award—Coconut Craze Day (Main Street Punta Gorda); Merit Awards—Okeechobee Main Street Halloween Celebration (Okeechobee Main Street); and Honoring Volunteers Week (Venice Main Street)

Outstanding Florida Main Street Image Campaign or Promotional Material: Honor Award—Gauged Creative House, “New Port Richey Business Information Guide;” Merit Awards—Main Street Milton, “Discover Milton Brochure;” and Main Street Punta Gorda, “Main Street Punta Gorda Brochure”

Outstanding Economic Restructuring Program or Project: Merit Award—St. Cloud Main Street and St. Cloud Arts “Studios, Gallery, & School” Gallery Project

Outstanding Florida Main Street Retail Sales Promotion: Honor Award—Downtown Dade City Main Street and Dade City Merchants, “The UnWrap”

Go Back